Moon in 1948 and Affect on Dow | Astro and Cycle Turns | Forum

Please consider registering
Guest

Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters – maximum search word length is 84 characters

Register Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_TopicIcon
Moon in 1948 and Affect on Dow
Avatar
Peter Temple
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Admin
Forum Posts: 122
Member Since:
December 29, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
1
November 11, 2016 – 2:15 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

The supermoon (perigee full moon) on November 14, 2016, will bring the moon closer to Earth than it has been since January 26, 1948. What’s more, the moon won’t come this close to Earth again until November 25, 2034. That makes the November 2016 full moon the closest and largest supermoon in a period of 86 years!

On November 14, 2016, at 11:23 Universal Time (UTC), the distance between the centers of the moon and Earth will shrink to its smallest distance for the year: 221,524 miles (356,509 km). That’s November 14 at 7:23 a.m. AST, 6:23 a.m. EST, 5:23 a.m. CST, 4:23 a.m. MST and 3:23 a.m. PST.

Some two weeks ago, the moon swung out to its farthest point for the year on October 31, 2016: 252,688 miles (406,662 km). That’s a difference of over 30,000 miles (50,000 km) in the moon’s distance in just two-weeks’ time.

Here’s what happened to the DOW in November, 2048,  when the moon was not the closest, but still fairly close

Nov-81948.jpgImage Enlarger

For the fun of it, we list the dates on which the centers of the moon and Earth span less than 356,500 km in the 20th century (1901 to 2000) and 21st century (2001 to 2100). The closest supermoon (perigee full moon) of the century is highlighted in CAPITALS:

sp_PlupAttachments Attachments
Avatar
Peter Temple
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Admin
Forum Posts: 122
Member Since:
December 29, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
2
November 11, 2016 – 7:40 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory

20th Century (1901 to 2000) the dates of the closest position of the moon to Earth before 1949:

JANUARY 4, 1912: 356,375 KM

January 15, 1930: 356,397 km

January 26, 1948: 356,461 km

 Jan15-1930-1.jpgImage Enlarger

Jan4-1912-1.jpgImage Enlarger
Jan261948-1.jpgImage Enlarger

sp_PlupAttachments Attachments
Forum Timezone: America/Edmonton

Most Users Ever Online: 13

Currently Online:
1 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

houseflii: 19

Platy: 14

tedward728: 4

Joe Longwill: 2

Lon Kaufmann: 2

Newest Members:

Dek

Clark

Max Gifford

Jay

Forum Stats:

Groups: 5

Forums: 25

Topics: 106

Posts: 176

 

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 1

Members: 208

Moderators: 1

Admins: 1

Administrators: Peter Temple

Moderators: Whazzup