Below is a list of British monarchs since Elizabeth I (reigned 1558–1603), covering the monarchs of England, then Great Britain (after the 1707 Acts of Union), and later the United Kingdom (after the 1801 Acts of Union with Ireland). The list includes the reigning monarchs in chronological order, with their reigns and houses:

- 1. **James I** (1603–1625) House of Stuart
 - Also James VI of Scotland, uniting the English and Scottish crowns.
- 2. **Charles I** (1625–1649) House of Stuart
 - Executed during the English Civil War; followed by the Commonwealth (1649–1660, no monarch).
- 3. Charles II (1660–1685) House of Stuart (restored)
 - Restored monarchy after the Commonwealth.
- 4. **James II** (1685–1688) House of Stuart
 - Deposed in the Glorious Revolution (also James VII of Scotland).
- 5. **Mary II** (1689–1694) House of Stuart
 - Ruled jointly with William III.
- 6. William III (1689–1702) House of Orange-Nassau
 - Ruled jointly with Mary II until her death; continued as sole monarch.
- 7. **Anne** (1702–1714) House of Stuart
 - Last Stuart monarch; oversaw the Acts of Union 1707, forming Great Britain.
- 8. **George I** (1714–1727) House of Hanover
 - First Hanoverian monarch, succeeding due to the Act of Settlement 1701.
- 9. **George II** (1727–1760) House of Hanover
- 10.**George III** (1760–1820) House of Hanover
 - Reigned during the American Revolution; United Kingdom formed in 1801.
- 11.**George IV** (1820–1830) House of Hanover
 - Previously Prince Regent (1811–1820) due to George III's incapacity.
- 12. **William IV** (1830–1837) House of Hanover
- 13. **Victoria** (1837–1901) House of Hanover
 - Longest-reigning British monarch at the time; Empress of India from 1876.
- 14.**Edward VII** (1901–1910) House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha
- 15.**George V** (1910–1936) House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha (renamed Windsor in 1917)
 - Changed house name to Windsor due to anti-German sentiment during WWI.
- 16.**Edward VIII** (1936) House of Windsor
 - o Abdicated after less than a year to marry Wallis Simpson.

- 17.**George VI** (1936–1952) House of Windsor
 - o Reigned during WWII; father of Elizabeth II.
- 18. Elizabeth II (1952–2022) House of Windsor
 - o Longest-reigning British monarch (70 years).
- 19. Charles III (2022–present) House of Windsor
 - o Current monarch as of June 4, 2025.

Notes:

- The Commonwealth period (1649–1660) under Oliver and Richard Cromwell had no monarch.
- The list reflects the transition from the Kingdom of England to Great Britain (1707) and the United Kingdom (1801).
- The House of Windsor continues to the present day.